Publication Date: December 27, 2011

Posted Date: December 27, 2011

Subject: Accreditation - National Advisory Committee on Institutional Quality and Integrity

FR Type: Notice

[Federal Register Volume 76, Number 248 (Tuesday, December 27, 2011)]
[Pages 80912-80913]
From the Federal Register Online via the Government Printing Office []
[FR Doc No: 2011-33113]



National Advisory Committee on Institutional Quality and
Integrity: Notice of Membership

AGENCY: National Advisory Committee on Institutional Quality and
Integrity, Office of Postsecondary Education, Department of Education.

What is the purpose of this notice?

The purpose of this notice is to list the members of the National
Advisory Committee on Institutional Quality and Integrity (NACIQI).
This notice is required under Section 114(e)(1) of the Higher Education
Act (HEA) of 1965, as amended.

What is the role of NACIQI?

The NACIQI is established under Section 114 of the HEA, and is
composed of 18 members appointed--
(A) On the basis of the individuals' experience, integrity,
impartiality, and good judgment;
(B) From among individuals who are representatives of, or
knowledgeable concerning, education and training beyond secondary
education, representing all sectors and types of institutions of higher
education; and,
(C) On the basis of the individuals' technical qualifications,
professional standing, and demonstrated knowledge in the fields of
accreditation and administration of higher education.
The NACIQI meets at least twice a year and provides recommendations
to the Secretary of Education pertaining to:
The establishment and enforcement of the standards of
accrediting agencies or associations under subpart 2 of part H of Title
The recognition of specific accrediting agencies or
The preparation and publication of the list of nationally
recognized accrediting agencies and associations.
The eligibility and certification process for institutions
of higher education under Title IV of the HEA.
The relationship between (1) accreditation of institutions
of higher education and the certification and eligibility of such
institutions, and (2) State licensing responsibilities with respect to
such institutions.
Any other advisory functions relating to accreditation and
institutional eligibility that the Secretary may prescribe by

What are the terms of office for the Committee members?

The term of office of each member is six years, except that the
terms of office for the initial members of the Committee shall be three
years for members appointed by the Secretary; four years for members
appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives; and six years
for members appointed by the President Pro Tempore of the Senate. Any
member appointed to fill a vacancy occurring prior to the expiration of
the term for which the member's predecessor was appointed is appointed
for the remainder of the term.

Who are the current members of the Committee?

The current members of the NACIQI are:

Members Appointed By Secretary of Education Arne Duncan With Terms
Expiring September 30, 2013

Jamienne S. Studley, J.D., NACIQI Chair, President and
Chief Executive Officer (CEO), Public Advocates, Inc., San Francisco,

[[Page 80913]]

Susan D. Phillips, Ph.D., NACIQI Reauthorization
Subcommittee Chair, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs,
The State University of New York at Albany, Albany, New York.
Earl Lewis, Ph.D., Provost and Executive Vice President
for Academic Affairs, Emory University, Atlanta, Georgia.
Beter-Aron Shimeles, Student Member, Bay Area Fellow for
Peer Health Exchange, Occidental College, Los Angeles, California.
Frank H. Wu, J.D., Chancellor and Dean, University of
California, Hastings College of the Law, San Francisco, California.
Federico Zaragoza, Ph.D., Vice Chancellor of Economic and
Workforce Development, Alamo Community College District, San Antonio,

Members Appointed by Speaker of the House of Representatives With Terms
Expiring September 30, 2014

Arthur J. Rothkopf, J.D., NACIQI Vice-Chair, President
Emeritus, Lafayette College, Easton, Pennsylvania. (Mr. Rothkopf
resides in Washington, DC).
Arthur Keiser, Ph.D., Chancellor, Keiser University, Fort
Lauderdale, Florida.
William E. Kirwan, Ph.D., Chancellor, University System of
Maryland, College Park, Maryland.
William Pepicello, Ph.D., President, University of
Phoenix, Phoenix, Arizona.
Carolyn G. Williams, Ph.D., President, City University of
New York Bronx Community College, Bronx, New York.
George T. French, Jr., Ph.D., President, Miles College,
Fairfield, Alabama.

Members Appointed by President Pro Tempore of the Senate With Terms
Expiring September 30, 2016

Bruce Cole, Ph.D., Senior Fellow, Hudson Institute,
Washington, DC.
Wilfred McClay, Ph.D., SunTrust Bank Chair of Excellence
in Humanities, University of Tennessee at Chattanooga, Chattanooga,
Anne D. Neal, J.D., President, American Council of
Trustees and Alumni, Washington, DC.
Cameron C. Staples, J.D., President and Chief Executive
Officer (CEO), New England Association of Schools and Colleges,
Bedford, Massachusetts.
Larry N. Vanderhoef, Ph.D., Chancellor Emeritus,
University of California-Davis, Davis, California.

How can I obtain additional information?

If you have any specific questions about the NACIQI, please contact
Kay Gilcher, Director, Accreditation Group, telephone (202) 502-7693,
fax (202) 219-7005, email:, between 9 a.m. and 5
p.m., Monday through Friday.
Electronic Access to This Document: The official version of this
document is the document published in the Federal Register. Free
Internet access to the official edition of the Federal Register and the
Code of Federal Regulations is available via the Federal Digital System
at At this site you can view this document,
as well as all other documents of this Department published in the
Federal Register, in text or Adobe Portable Document Format (PDF). To
use PDF, you must have Adobe Acrobat Reader, which is available free at
the site.
You may also access documents of the Department published in the
Federal Register by using the article search feature at: Specifically, through the advanced search
feature at this site, you can limit your search to documents published
by the Department.

Dated: December 20, 2011.
Arne Duncan,
Secretary of Education.
[FR Doc. 2011-33113 Filed 12-23-11; 8:45 am]


This Federal Register is in PDF Format


End of Page